On Leaving

As a nanny we become very attached to the kids we watch and although we don’t want to think about it we know that one day it has to end. In a few days I will be leaving my second nanny job and it is no easier than leaving my first nanny job.

I got my first nanny job while I was going to college in Virginia, taking some time off from school because I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life. Then I found nannying. At that time I just needed a job and I always enjoyed kids so why not? I had no idea I was about to discover my passion and long term career. I had no idea that doing something I love so much could turn out to be an amazing career that I love and look forward to every day.

I was only with my first family for 7 months before I moved back home to Cincinnati, but I grew to love that family in that short amount of time and became a part of the family and even spent some holidays together. Leaving them was extremely hard, nothing I ever had to do before. I will never forget leaving my last day of work and getting to the end of the street and realizing I had to go back to return the car seats and house key, when I left I cried like a baby. My back seat looked so empty. I would miss that family dearly, especially since I would be moving 8 hours away and not get to see them very often.

This brings me to my second nanny job. When I moved home I was on a mission and within 2 weeks I met an amazing family with 2 year old twin boys and started working for them. These crazy little boys kept me busy and I quickly fell in love with them and their family as well. Fast forward 5 years and trying not to write a book with all kinds of sappy stories about how much I love them and how much they mean to me and the boys are about to enter 2nd grade. I could go on and on about how much I adore this family, how much and I will miss them and how many times I have laid in bed crying over the fact that I won’t get to see them every day but I don’t want to bore you. I just keep reminding myself that this is part of the job. I will have to go through this many more times throughout my life but the great part is that every time I leave a family I gain another and I never lose one. Although I won’t get to spend every day with the boys I will still see them often and still be involved in their lives. I wonder what they will think, they don’t remember a time that I wasn’t there, and I don’t think they fully understand that I won’t be there every day.

I hate the idea of having to leave my family but kids grow and they eventually don’t need a nanny any more and although I am sad to leave I am excited for a new journey. I recently excepted a job with a wonderful family with a newborn baby girl and a 2 year old boy and I can’t wait to see where our journey takes us.

Leave a Reply

